« Library of America
American Science Fiction, Classic Novels of the 1950's

Other Novels by C. M. Kornbluth and Frederik Pohl


The Space Merchants The Space Merchants (New York: Ballantine, 1953)
Search the Sky Search the Sky (New York: Ballantine, 1954)
A Town is Drowning A Town Is Drowning (New York: Ballantine, 1955)
Gladiator-at-Law Gladiator-at-Law (New York: Ballantine, 1955)
Presidential Year Presidential Year (New York: Ballantine, 1956)
Sorority House Sorority House (New York: Lion, 1956)
The Man of Cold Rages The Man of Cold Rages (New York: Pyramid, 1958)
Wolfbane Wolfbane (New York: Ballantine, 1959)

Other Novels by Frederik Pohl

Undersea Quest Undersea Quest (New York: Gnome, 1954)
Undersea Fleet Undersea Fleet (New York: Gnome, 1955)
The God of Channel 1 The God of Channel 1 (New York: Ballantine, 1955)
Preferred Risk Preferred Risk (New York: Simon and Schuster, 1955)
Turn the Tigers Loose Turn the Tigers Loose (New York: Ballantine, 1956)
Edge of the City Edge of the City (New York: Ballantine, 1957)
Slave Ship Slave Ship (New York: Ballantine, 1957)
Undersea City Undersea City (New York: Gnome, 1958)
Drunkard's Walk Drunkard's Walk (New York: Ballantine, 1960)
The Reefs of Space The Reefs of Space (New York: Ballantine, 1964)
Starchild Starchild (New York: Ballantine, 1965)
A Plague of Pythons A Plague of Pythons (New York: Ballantine, 1965)
Rogue Star Rogue Star (New York: Ballantine, 1969)
The Age of the Pussyfoot The Age of the Pussyfoot (New York: Trident, 1969)
Farthest Star Farthest Star (New York: Ballantine, 1975)
Man Plus Man Plus (New York: Random House, 1976)
Gateway Gateway (New York: St. Martin's, 1977)
Jem JEM: The Making of a Utopia (New York: St. Martin's, 1979)
Beyond the Blue Event Horizon Beyond the Blue Event Horizon (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1980)
The Cool War The Cool War (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1981)
Syzygy Syzygy (New York: Bantam, 1982)
Starburst Starburst (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1982)
Midas World Midas World (New York: St. Martin's Press, 1983)
Wall Around a Star Wall Around a Star (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1983)
The Merchants' War The Merchants' War (New York: St. Martin's Press, 1984)
Heechee Rendezvous Heechee Rendezvous (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1984)
The Years of the City The Years of the City (New York: Timescape, 1984)
Black Star Rising Black Star Rising (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1985)
The Coming of the Quantum Cats The Coming of the Quantum Cats (New York: Bantam Spectra, 1986)
Terror Terror (New York: Berkley, 1986)
The Annals of the Heechee The Annals of the Heechee (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1987)
Chernobyl Chernobyl (New York: Bantam, 1987)
Narabedla Ltd Narabedla Ltd (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1988)
Land's End Land's End (New York: Tor, 1988)
Homegoing Homegoing (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1989)
The World at the End of Time The World at the End of Time (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1990)
Outnumbering the Dead Outnumbering the Dead (London: Legend, 1990)
Stopping at Slowyear Stopping at Slowyear (Eugene, OR: Pulphouse Publishing, 1991)
The Singers of Time The Singers of Time (New York: Doubleday, 1991)
Mining the Oort Mining the Oort (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 1992)
The Voices of Heaven The Voices of Heaven (New York: Tor, 1994)
Mars Plus Mars Plus (New York: Baen Books, 1994)
The Other End of Time The Other End of Time (New York: Tor, 1996)
The Siege of Eternity The Siege of Eternity (New York: Tor, 1997)
O Pioneer! O Pioneer! New York: Tor, 1998)
The Far Shore of Time The Far Shore of Time (New York: Tor, 1999)
The Boy Who Would Live Forever The Boy Who Would Live Forever (New York: Tor, 2004)
The Last Theorem The Last Theorem (New York: Ballantine/Del Rey, 2008)
All the Lives He Led All the Lives He Led (New York: Tor, 2011)

Other Novels by C. M. Kornbluth

Outpost Mars Outpost Mars (New York: Abelard, 1952)
Gunner Cade Gunner Cade (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1952)
Takeoff Takeoff (Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1952)
The Syndic The Syndic (Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1953)
Valerie Valerie (New York: Lion, 1953)
Half Half (New York: Lion, 1953)
Not This August Not This August (Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1955)
Author Profile

Frederik Pohl & C. M. Kornbluth

Frederick Pohl

Michael Dirda on The Space Merchants

Read Biography

Frederik Pohl and C.M. Kornbluth—The Space Merchants: An Alternate Ending

Sometime around February 1952, having sent a finished draft of the novel eventually published as The Space Merchants off to Horace Gold at Galaxy magazine, Frederik Pohl and C. M. Kornbluth got the news that there was “a kind of hitch” in their plans for the book: it wasn’t long enough. Gold needed several thousand additional words to fill up the space he had allotted for the novel, which he was publishing in Galaxy as Gravy Planet.

Frederik Pohl—"Cyril": Remembering C. M. Kornbluth

Frederik Pohl and C. M. Kornbluth met as teenage members of the Futurian Society, a New York fan group, and their intensely productive friendship was cut short only by Kornbluth's premature death, of a heart attack, at 34. Here, in an April 20, 2009 post from his lauded blog ("The Way the Future Blogs"), Pohl remembers his coauthor.

C. M. Kornbluth—The Failure of the Science Fiction Novel as Social Criticism

In 1957, C. M. Kornbluth participated in a lecture series at the University of Chicago featuring leading SF writers.

Pohl & Kornbluth
Bonus Material

Radio dramatizations of The Space Merchants and four of Frederik Pohl's science fiction stories, plus video of C. M. Kornbluth's “The Little Black Bag” on Tales of Tomorrow (1952).

Other Novels by Frederik Pohl and C. M. Kornbluth

Today's SF Authors Comment